Met Gala 2014: 1-4

I worked off of this slideshow: here are the first 4 slides.

1. Jay-Z & Beyoncé(Givenchy):
Jay-Z, Beyoncé

 

Okay so I know next to nothing about men’s fashion aside from whether or not I personally like it. That being said… I think the cut of Jay-Z’s suit makes him seem wider and shorter than he is which, in turn, makes Beyoncé look short. Speaking of: girl, what are you wearing?? Too busy, too much sheer (if it’s going to be see-through anyway, cut back on the fabric to avoid a gothic feel), and too dark with the wine lips and birdcage veil. Sorry B, not a fan. NAY.

 

2. Taylor Swift(Oscar de la Renta):
Taylor Swift

Personal preference aside (I was notoriously tomboyish so the color pink can still make me cringe), the color of this dress is perfect for Taylor’s complexion. It’s pale enough that the bold red lip can fly and paired with curled bangs and the subtle detailing on the dress, she pulls off a surprisingly old-school glam vibe. Love it. YAY!

3. Lupita Nyong’o(Prada):
Lupita Nyong'o

As much as I adore Lupita (I mean look at her face, she is so confident and just RADIATING elegance)… I can’t vouch for the dress. All I see is an awkward combination of a beaded curtain, a fishing net, and a peacock tangled in the whole mix with shoes to match- sorry Prada. NAY.

4. Kim Kardashian & Kanye West(Lanvin):
Kim Kardashian, Kanye West

Not a huge fan of the coattails on Kanye, but I have to admit that he looks pretty sharp. And then KIM! Slouching fabric is a difficult look that not many people can manage, but since she is known for her wonderfully curvaceous outline, I found it very refreshing to see her in this gorgeously blue and sophisticated dress. YAY!

Leave a Reply

