Browsing: Valentino Pre-Fall 2015

I got all of these pictures from this slideshow.

As I’m sure you’ve all noticed, I’m a hopeless fashion nerd, and so I was  browsing through Vogue.com and found the Valentino Pre-Fall 2015 Runway Collection.
Here are a few of my favorites:

Look 1/97:

Granted, the turtleneck bib is a bit much, and I don’t think (okay, I KNOW) that I couldn’t pull this look off… but I can’t help but admit that it’s adorable. I’m glad that the sleeves are so long to balance out the short hemline, and I really like the pattern (which, as you will see, is prevalent through the rest of the collection). Other than that, I’m really liking the empire waist, the geometrical inserts, and the shoes…in theory- I’m very VERY particular about shoes, and these definitely work for the look even if I don’t like them individually.

Look 9, 22, & 92/97:

These three are similarly wonderful- I love the pleated front and the bow around the neck, both of which I’ve learned to appreciate over the last few weeks thanks to the absolutely gorgeous Fanny Rosie (who, coincidentally, is the reason for my recent Lolita kick). The shape of the dress is flattering; the piping down the sides of the front panel give subtle texture to the otherwise all-black dress; and the bags are gorgeous, plain and simple.

Look 21/97:

Beautiful jacket, bow around the neck, shoes… and I actually love how all of these pieces are the same pattern. Usually that bothers me, but in this outfit  it works wonderfully.

Look 28 & 95/97:

These three dresses are a bit too…um, sheer…for my taste, but the shape and the appliques are done brilliantly. Absolutely stunning.

Look 30/97:

On paper, the two different patterns should clash… but they definitely don’t, and I absolutely love this whole ensemble- the paneling, the collar, the clean cut of the hemlines, and yes… even the shoes.

Look 31/97:

This is probably my FAVORITE look (except for the shoes, this is where I have to draw the line… sorry Valentino)- this cowled sweater is so adorable and looks like the comfiest thing you could ever own, especially when it’s paired with a sweater dress like it is here. Since I’ve been ‘privileged’ with subzero temperatures recently (I hate Winter, I would move if I thought I could get away with it) I’m seriously coveting this comfy cuteness.

Look 60/97:

I love this dress because it’s unconventional. I think that the bib/collar/grecian-neckline combination was a risk, but one that paid off, and the tulip skirt is a refreshing contrast to the rest of the collection’s outlines. And the bag is perfect. I would have paired this with a jacket and I can’t really get on board with the pointy-toed shoes… I’ve never been able to jump onto that particular wagon, and I don’t see that changing any time soon.

Look 86/97:

First off, I do like the shoes (at least what we can see, yaay!). The neckline, and the chest-piece, is so intriguing that I included this look as soon as I saw it. The pattern is somewhere between aztec and art deco, and the entire shape of the dress and its individual parts (floor length, lace inserts, bold pattern, faux-cap sleeves… all of it) come together to make a perfectly pulled-together look.

Look 89/97:

THIS!!! It’s a remarkable rarity when a piece on the runway is so accessible and street-ready- I would wear this on a day out shopping, lunch with the girls, coffee date… anywhere that a dress is practical. The pattern is whimsical and to die for- love, love, love.

Look 90/97:

Similar to the previous look,

Well, 14 out of 97 isn’t so bad… right?
Let me know what you guys think of this post, I think it would be cool to run through look books and see how each collection fairs as far as percentage of the collection making the cut. Altogether, the Valentino Pre-Fall 2015 Runway collection got a 14.43% approval from me.
Thanks for sticking with me, everyone- I’m not sure how many of you actually read these posts or if you just scroll through to see my sets, but thanks to all of you for your feedback and your views.
Sincerely, Me 🙂

Leave a Reply

